A Few Days in May

ny-city-skyline-photos-58

I always like to see what I’ve written in my journals on the same day in the past. But I couldn’t find anything from today, May 7th, from a quick glance…. I did find a May 13. Here’s a few days I spent in New York thinking about Jeff Buckley/weather in FL/Carson Daly world premiering “When It’s Over” on TRL at MTV and our manager falling in his soup in LA.

5-13-01

LA to NY. I’m getting so used to that plane ride. I just read a single magazine the whole time. Skipped the choice of steak, chicken or salmon. Just read. I read about Marco Polo and his families travels all through Europe, through the middle east, into Asia, and wondered how the fuck his name ever got thrown into a swimming pool.

The hotel we’re staying at is the CHAMBERS. It’s kinda a fluff puff hotel. But they do have a DVD player – ha. Pop in Jeff Buckley live and holy crap, I notice that he played that concert exactly six years ago to the day. The Metro in Chicago, a place we played, too. I think we played there around that time, but I’m not positive. Anyway I’m enjoying it. And I’m watching it at about the exact hour he probably went on six years ago- 8:30pm Chicago time.

Big fat lines of black and white strike my face from my TV. TV sells you everything. Products, entertainment, the thinning of your wallet from afar, lots of things.

MONDAY 5-14-01 Monday evening, 6:56 pm. Writing with my feet up on the small art deco coffee table, staring out my window toward the sky that creeps between skyscrapers. My window is cracked and the sounds of the traffic fill my room. This loft/room is so different than our usual stay here. It’s more artsy fartsy, but it wears well. Truth be told, it’s good to worry about what kind of four star hotel you’re staying in. When you take that too seriously, it’s time to worry.

TUESDAY 5-15-01 In the van, going to the airport. It’s 4:20 pm on Tuesday May 15th. Today we went to TRL (Total Request Live) and Carson played ‘When it’s Over’ as a world debut. I was in the control room and they cut to me introducing it and putting it in the VCR and pushing play. I’m a great actor. I’ve had so much experience. I jumped into the photo booth and took a roll with Craig and Slep, then did a solo sequence. had my OBEY shirt on. Met the lead singer of FUEL. Then we went to VH1 and plowed through lunch. They’d brought Virgil’s Texas BBQ over and three pizzas. I had a bit of everything. I hope Bowie is OK. I hope Julie is happy. Haven’t talked to her since this afternoon.

The roads in New York, if you can call them that, are bumpy as shit. Right now I’m staring at the NY skyline. The sun is behind some streaking clouds and the buildings are all blacked out. It looks like a photograph you buy on Broadway at a tourist trap. I’m getting it for free. Now we’re heading down into a tunnel. Everybody is burnt from either getting up too early or talking and smiling and laughing for too many interviews. Happiness can be tiring. Or is it really happiness? Why would it be tiring? I’m curious. Maybe it’s something else. A front? A face you put on. Perhaps. Perhaps not. Possibly it’s that everybody is burnt for different reasons.

florida-2

(this was in Florida but a few years earlier shooting the SOMEDAY video)

I can’t wait for the weather in Florida. That’s where we’re headed right now. Miami. I’m just not a clothes guy, dressing up and wearing all kinds of shit, I’m happier in shorts and flip flops. I just feel comfortable dressed down like that. New York is a fun place for the right amount of time. Too long, and it’ll chew you up and spit you out. Just too many dirty black sidewalks and angry people to go around. A dent in your personal karmic amour.

4 thoughts on “A Few Days in May

  1. Journals are awesome. I love reading back to times when I felt like I was a few thinker and questioned everything. I find it ironic that game is tiring. It’s what do many artists strive for but in all actuality, it’s work. It’s tiring. It’s a JOB. I like your statement about the hotel. If it really does begin to matter then, you’re right, something I’d wrong. I find it funny, too, how you reference the shorts and flip flops. I always wondered if you guys hated getting all dressed up. I find it unique how Rodney still dresses to the nines fur each show. That’s got to be miserable hot, but he must be used to it after all these years. Thanks for sharing your journal. I always love reading other people’s perspectives of their surroundings and experiences.

    1. Journals are awesome. I love reading back to times when I felt like I was a free thinker and questioned everything. I find it ironic that fame is tiring. It’s what so many artists strive for but in all actuality, it’s work. It’s tiring. It’s a JOB. I like your statement about the hotel. If it really does begin to matter then, you’re right, something is wrong. I find it funny, too, how you reference the shorts and flip flops. I always wondered if you guys hated getting all dressed up. I find it unique how Rodney still dresses to the nines for each show. That’s got to be miserably hot, but he must be used to it after all these years. Thanks for sharing your journal. I always love reading other people’s perspectives of their surroundings and experiences.

Leave a Reply

